Things we keep, things we let go

Published December 30, 2009 by livinggraciously

I am taking the last few days of 2009 very easy.  Relaxing, resting, hibernating.  That feels right.

I’m also wandering around the house, looking at what’s here and contemplating changes to make things work more smoothly.  There will be some rearranging, some discarding, some things purchased to better organize.  It’s nice to take time to think about these things instead of just jumping in willy-nilly.

It’s also imperative that I don’t succumb to the urge to rush in and change everything, putting living to the side while I concentrate on an artificial emergency.

You see, I’m really very good at the slash-and-burn part of such projects.  It’s maintenance and daily living that challenges me.  So I could easily burn this whole project out in two very successful weeks, making myself sick or getting myself far behind on other things in the process and then have it all collapse.

That kind of behavior?  One of the things I need to let go.  In this race, I’ve always wanted to be the hare.  It’s time to be the tortoise.  Slow and steady is what’s needed for a year-long exercise.  Of course, this means I have to figure out how much is enough and how much is too much.  Ferrett and I have a fair number of projects we want to accomplish this year,  but it’s also important to us to have time for each other and time for our friends.   2009 was a stressful year where we felt dragged in a thousand directions.  There were a lot of uncontrollable factors that contributed to that stress, but we can do a better job of planning and anticipating this year.  Unanticipated challenges will undoubtedly come up, but we’re looking to decrease the stress level this year.

More about the year’s projects and schedule later.  But the challenges are many and varied.  In the meantime, back to relaxing.

2 comments on “Things we keep, things we let go

  • Enjoy the last of 2009, ring in 2010 with friends, then work on sustainable changes.

    I think I’m going to do exactly what you said here. Also, you & theferrett seem to have almost the exact same habits as T & I do.

    Oh, look, a clear surface; I guess that’s where the mail/books/dvds go. And the kitchen counter? In addition to meds, coffee, glasses, and drying dishes that’s where the mat, grommet & snap setting tools and findings belong.

    • Oh, look, a clear surface; I guess that’s where the mail/books/dvds go. And the kitchen counter? In addition to meds, coffee, glasses, and drying dishes that’s where the mat, grommet & snap setting tools and findings belong.

      Oh, dear yes. It is a continual battle. I am desperate for solutions, if you or anyne has any to offer.

  • Leave a Reply

