Feathering the nest continues

Published September 8, 2011 by livinggraciously

The good news is I’ve figured out how to deal with the dining room. The bad news is that we can’t afford to do it until at least next year. Such is the nature of the limited budget.

That aside, a couple people pointed out that the built-in china cabinet had become something of an eyesore. Too much stuff just shoved into it, making it look like a jumble sale rather than a display or useful space. To you observant folk, I thank you. It’s easy to get blinded to such things. So while Ferrett was at World Con this weekend, I undertook reorganization of the visible shelves of the china cabinet. Here we have before:

and after:

The cookbooks are moved to another room, and some stuff that was just…stuff has been eliminated. The shelves now contain utilitarian items or items that have real sentimental value.  I also took the time to sand out a scorch mark that required something to cover it.

This is not the end of the changes for the china cabinet. I agree that it needs to be refinished in a color that better matches the kitchen cabinets, now that they are all so exposed to each other. My mind’s eye has trouble actually looking at both the kitchen and dining room at the same time, because they were so separate for so long. But I realize that other people can see the gestalt of it better than I. So stripping and staining are on the agenda.

Keep in mind that “doing something about the awful carpet” was on the agenda for about a decade before we finally got around to it. So don’t expect a lot of action in the near future. I’m sort of patting myself on the back for just cleaning out the cabinets.

Honestly? At this point just looking at the kitchen when it’s all cleaned up and “magazine ready” pleases me so much that I think that getting to do it all at once would detract from the pleasure.

Leave a Reply

