I’ll never be this young again

Published July 17, 2015 by livinggraciously

Here is my beloved Betty, now adapted to accommodate my back:

The handlebars, which used to be slightly lower than the seat, are now quite high. Between an extended stem and the raised handlebars, I can sit up quite straight. I rode again yesterday, a little over 6 miles, and once again made myself keep it short.

It’s tough, this starting slow. I was sore as heck afterward. I tell myself that it’s the good kind of pain, but it’s still pain.

Today, I feel good. I recovered well. I feel…cheerful about where I am.

I listened to Avici’s Wake Me Up. One of the lyrics is “I wish that I could stay forever this young.” And before, I’ve heard that with melancholy: I’m well past youth.

And then today I realized, I am still younger than I will be tomorrow, and certainly younger than I will be in 10 years. I am embracing that, making the best use of today so that my tomorrows will be the best they can be.

Leave a Reply

