It’s a jungle out there

Published July 20, 2015 by livinggraciously

My back garden, that lovely place I created for myself back in 2003, has gone so far to weed that I won’t even take a picture of it. Suffice to say, the weeds are the height of corn all around the bee hive.

We had one hive survive, and they are intrepid jungle fliers, just to get out of that mess. The other hive has undoubtedly, in its abandoned state, been taken over by ants and wax moths.

The thing is, I *want* to like gardening. I want to want to be out there, puttering around. I want to grow tomatoes and peppers, and enjoy that beautiful space.

I just don’t want it enough to do anything about it. And I’m not quite sure what to do about that. We have people who mow for us, but the cost of their weeding and such is prohibitive. And I have guilt about having people do that work when it’s something I want to want to do.

Right now it’s hot and humid, and that’s my excuse for not going out there. Also, I have work to do. Also also, allergies. But really? I’m finding the guilt easier to live with than the actual work would be. Even though I know from experience that if I did it I would be happier, and proud of myself. I just can’t quite get myself to go.

2 comments on “It’s a jungle out there

  • Leave a Reply

