Little blue slave driver

Published August 7, 2015 by livinggraciously

I have a Jawbone now.

You’re probably thinking, “surely she had one before; most people are born with them!”

Ah, but this Jawbone is a step tracker, an ugly blue bit of plastic wrapped around my wrist. I chose the Jawbone over other trackers because a cluster of my in-laws have the same device and now we can all be on a team together, even though we are half a country away from each other.

Which means that they can now see whether I’m getting my sleep, and whether I’m getting my steps in. It’s kind of like a weird, cellphone based Santa Claus (he sees you when you’re sleeping; he knows when you’re walking the dog).

Honestly, I am enjoying sharing this increase in fitness with my family. We can send each other cheering notes, and there have definitely been evenings when I haven’t really *wanted* to walk the dog, but I’ve done so in order to get the last of my 10,000 steps in for the day.

But, wow, on those days when work or other situations just make it impossible for me to get them in? So much guilt! Particularly when I see my sister-in-law logging 20,000 steps or more. 20,000? I haven’t gotten anywhere close to that, ANY day! I’m impressed and intimidated.

And now I’ve been working and writing and on the couch for way too long. It’s not whips or chains that drive me on, it’s peer pressure! Off to movement for a while!

Leave a Reply

