The 365 project

Published August 24, 2015 by livinggraciously

Today, I removed five dead computers from our house. Some of these computers have been hanging around here, defunct, for more than a decade. Every year our local government have a technology disposal week. Every year I think, “Oh, I need to take advantage of that!”

Every year, I forget. But not this year! Five! Five dead computers gone.

That only leaves three, maybe four dead computers still hanging around. Hey, you do what you can.

Anyway, it’s part of what’s referred to as the 365 project: donate, recycle, or throw out one item from your house every day for a year. Getting the crap clutter out of the house. It’s harder than you think. Oh, I got rid of probably 365 separate items in the last month, clearing out a bunch of junk from the basement, and the computers, old speakers, cables, keyboards, etc. It’s easy to do the big stuff.

The tough part is doing it every single day. It doesn’t matter if you got rid of 50 things on Tuesday, Wednesday you need to figure out something else that can go. That’s when you start drilling down and really evaluating what can go.

We all have way too much junk in our lives. It weighs us down. I’m trying to lessen that weight, lighten the physical burden of life.

Until we moved to Ohio, it was pretty easy. I never lived in one place for more than three years. At least every 36 months, often considerably less time than that, I had to pack everything up, haul it to a new place, and find a new place to put it. When you have to schlep all the crap, you get a lot more ruthless about what you really need to take with you, what you need to find another place to store.

I’ve been in the same house for 14 years now. I have a basement, with big storage closets. It’s easy to keep things “just in case” I need them.

I seldom do.

So now I’m dragging crap back out of the house. Some days it’s, “Oh, crap, I don’t have much time, what can go?” Other days I come across a treasure trove of crap to mine.

We’ll see what things look like by next August.

Leave a Reply

