Junk drawer

Published September 15, 2015 by livinggraciously

I get so irked at myself for not taking before and after pictures of things. Suffice to say that I stumbled into accidental dejunking today when I went to look for something in the junk drawer.

The problem with junk drawers is that every house needs one–that repository for batteries, lighters, takeout menus, scissors, tape, pens–but they quickly become the tossing place for everything that comes into hand but you don’t have time to deal with. “I don’t want to throw this out, but I don’t have a place for it. Hey, the junk drawer!”

Also, I live in a household where certain people (not naming names) have a tendency to change the battery in something and toss the dead batteries back into junk drawer. Also to treat empty tape dispensers like they may grow new tape if they’re left alone in a dark place for a while.

I, on the other hand, have a tendency to receive photos of friends and family and, not knowing what to do with them in that moment, toss them into the drawer. The thing is, I *do* know what to do with them; I have a special drawer just for photos. Only I forget that. All. The. Time.

I’m as guilty as anyone else in the household of not wasting the brain power to figure out where a thing actually goes. So the drawer had reached the point of needing to be jammed shut.

Not anymore. I put away, or threw away, at least 60% of what was in there. It’s neat and organized, and I found that pair of scissors I’ve been irritated had disappeared. I feel very accomplished.

It will last about two weeks….

2 comments on “Junk drawer

  • Leave a Reply

