In which I admit my hypocrisy

Published October 1, 2015 by livinggraciously

When it comes to language, I am a proud Luddite. I cling to the proper use of grammar. I object to people using the word “problematic” to mean “a problem” when the actual definition is “questionable,” and agree that I can hand you the remote, but you haven’t asked if I will. I insist on spelling out words in texts, eschewing “cu l8tr” for complete sentences with proper punctuation. I champion the Oxford comma.

And yet.

And yet.

I now regularly use “ima” in place of “I’m going to.” Oh, not in writing. But speaking? “Ima stop at the grocery store. Want anything?” I hear myself do it, at least part of the time, and reflect upon this slippage of my speech. I know it’s not the only example of my speech getting slangy, it’s just the one of which I am most aware.

There is nothing about this phrase that is superior to the other phrases that I reject. It just works on my tongue. I have to admit, then, that language is a living thing that does, in fact, move and change.

But I still believe that grammar and vocabulary are important. Precision of thought requires precision of language. Communication beyond the basics is deepened by mutual agreement about the meaning of words.

Ima keep fighting the good fight.

Leave a Reply

