Archives

All posts for the day May 21st, 2012

Pedal to the Point!

Published May 21, 2012 by livinggraciously

I mentioned a while back that I am training to participate in  Pedal to the Point, the MS bike ride, in August. And that this is a fundraising event. I have biked over 500 miles so far this year, and am excited about the ride.

But now is the first time that I will be asking you for donations. And this next five days is a particularly important period for donation gathering. You see, the MS Society is running a contest May 21-25. The person who raises the most money in the next five days will win a Raleigh racing bike.

Now, I love my bike. But it is not fast. And a good, fast bike would be awesome. I doubt that I will be the person to win the bike, but if you are thinking of donating to me, this will be the week to do it.

And it’s a really excellent cause. MS is a debilitating disease that stole my wonderful grandfather from me and left behind a sad shell of a man. Some wonderful progress has been made, but more is needed.

If I win the bike, I will complete the century ride on the first day of Pedal to the Point. Heck, if I get to $2000, I will attempt the century, even on my current bike.

So if you are able to donate, even $5.00, please consider making the donation this week. My donation site is  here. You can read more about what the ride means to me there. Thank you!